Archive | 12:45 pm

Eternal Rider, by Larissa Ione

20 Feb

Format: Kindle edition, 402 pages
Published: April 1, 2011
Publisher: Piatkus Books
Back cover blurb:
His name is Ares, and the fate of mankind rests on his powerful shoulders. If he falls to the forces of evil, the world falls too. As one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, he is far stronger than any mortal, but even he cannot fight his destiny forever. Not when his own brother plots against him.

Yet there is one last hope. Gifted in a way other humans can’t – or won’t – understand, Cara Thornhart is the key to both this Horseman’s safety and his doom. But involving Cara will prove treacherous, even beyond the maddening, dangerous desire that seizes them the moment they meet. For staving off eternal darkness could have a staggering cost: Cara’s life.

My review:
I just couldn’t really get into this book or feel connected to the main characters, but maybe that was just me. I loved the Demonica series but the first book was my least favourite, and maybe that’s just the case here – first book syndrome. Maybe I just need to settle into the characters and the world a bit more.

Ares was an interesting guy: complex, caring and totally unlike how you expect War to be. Cara was OK, but something about her didn’t sit right with me. It struck me as odd that she was a frightened mouse in the beginning – understandable after her home invasion experience – but by the end, just a few days later, she was an insatiable coughslutcough. I never thought I would say this, but I even thought there was too much smexy time at the end. Sure, it was hot as Hades, as all Ione’s books are, but by the end I was just going “get it over with, already”.

I suspect I will enjoy the second book in this series better as it features Arik, whom we already know from the Demonica series, and Limos (Famine) who seems like a fun chick. The first chapter was a teaser at the end of this book and looks a riot from the first word. I’m willing to give it a try, because it’s Ione and I love her.

My rating: 3.5/5
Deadline

Hollywood Entertainment Breaking News

Random Acts of Rob™

Powered by 100% Pure Lust!

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold…and she likes sugar

The Rover - The Movie Fansite

A David Michod film starring Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson

Bookish Temptations

Bookish Temptations...We're romantically inclined. Just Read. Feed your mind and open your heart.

The Book Hookup

FEED your NEED to READ!

Cosmopolis - The Movie Fansite. Film by David Cronenberg starring Robert Pattinson

"He didn't know what he wanted. And then he knew. He wanted to get a haircut."

The Cold Shower

No rules... No regrets... No return...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers