Fallen Angel, by Willa Cline

28 Feb

Format: Kindle Edition

Published: May 31, 2010
Publisher: Smashwords
Back cover blurb:
Sarah moved from Chicago to Sarasota, Florida to make a new start after a terrible tragedy. She leads a quiet life, running her small bookstore during the day, and going home in the evenings to her house on the beach. But when Zach shows up, claiming to be her guardian angel, things get a lot more complicated.
My review:
Fallen Angel has lovely cover art, but little else. I read it for a book challenge, mainly because it met the criteria and was only $US1.99 on my Kindle, otherwise it wouldn’t have normally been my kind of read.
Several things irked me. I found it hard to believe Sarah would find herself in love with Zach so quickly, given her past. The standoff between Zach and Yurkemi was tame, and after that nothing much happened in the book apart from rain. What was all the business with the cats – and who cares?
I felt Ms Cline needed the help of a good editor and proof reader. Frequently I came across typos – “the” instead of “she”, even “Zack” instead of “Zach” – and someone should tell the author “awhile” is two words. An editor could have also helped with consistency – at one point a girl buys a Christmas present for her boyfriend and is told by Sarah to wish him a happy birthday. “The girl assured her she would” – so was it his birthday or a Christmas present?
It reminded me of an episode of Touched by an Angel but without the plot. I kept reading, hoping it would improve, but there just wasn’t any substance there. I guess I got my money’s worth, but I prefer my angels more Mischa Collins than Roma Downey.
My rating: 2/5

3 Responses to “Fallen Angel, by Willa Cline”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m gonna challenge myself… « Books, Baking & Other Objects of Beauty - February 28, 2011

    […] 17.Fallen Angel by Willa Cline – Completed February 8, 2011 […]

  2. Reading Challenges Update: February « Books, Baking & Other Objects of Beauty - March 1, 2011

    […] 17.Fallen Angel by Willa Cline – Completed February 8, 2011 […]

  3. Where has the year gone? A challenge update « Books, Baking & Other Objects of Beauty - December 22, 2011

    […] 17.Fallen Angel by Willa Cline – Completed February 8, 2011 […]

Leave a Reply

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Author's Taproom

Where every hour is happy hour!

Torte - The Blog

Recipes, products and decorating ideas from Torte Cake Decorating Supplies, New Zealand based

Random Acts of Rob™

Powered by 100% Pure Lust!

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

The Rover - The Movie Fansite

A David Michod film starring Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson

Bookish Temptations

Bookish Temptations... Just Read. Feed your mind and open your heart.

The Book Hookup

Eat. Breathe. Read.

Cosmopolis - The Movie Fansite. Film by David Cronenberg starring Robert Pattinson

"He didn't know what he wanted. And then he knew. He wanted to get a haircut."

The Cold Shower

No rules... No regrets... No return...

