Fifty Shades of Grey, by E.L. James

19 Jul

Format: ebook, 356 pages
Published: May 25, 2011
Publisher: The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House
Back cover blurb:
When literature student Anastasia Steele is drafted to interview the successful young entrepreneur Christian Grey for her campus magazine, she finds him attractive, enigmatic and intimidating. Convinced their meeting went badly, she tries to put Grey out of her mind – until he happens to turn up at the out-of-town hardware store where she works part-time.

The unworldly, innocent Ana is shocked to realize she wants this man, and when he warns her to keep her distance it only makes her more desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her – but on his own terms.
Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success – his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving adoptive family – Grey is man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a passionate, physical and daring affair, Ana learns more about her own dark desires, as well as the Christian Grey hidden away from public scrutiny.
Can their relationship transcend physical passion? Will Ana find it in herself to submit to the self-indulgent Master? And if she does, will she still love what she finds?

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

My review:
Holy cow… *fans self*

Honestly, I don’t know where to start. The story is ridiculously hot. Squirming in your seat hot. Knowing who Christian is based on makes this book even hotter, if that is possible. I can just picture him doing those things, and that turns my knees to jelly.

I guess I have to make another confession: I never read this when it was free online. I read the first few chapters, then the odd bit here and there, but the length of it daunted me because I was so late to the partay. Anyhoodle, as a result, reading the book has been somewhat of a revelation for me.

One of the reasons I was a bit slow to read the online version was that I never thought I would enjoy a book in which the heroine gets her ass handed to her – literally – as Ana does. But in the context of the overall story it is somewhat necessary. This volume – the first in what I think will be a trilogy – ends with her making a very grown-up decision, which I applauded because she needed to grow a pair. And not THOSE kind of balls… Oh, see, I have to fan myself again now… 😉

Yes, there are a few typos but they will be fixed (by me!) for a second edition. The upshot of all this is: Go. Read. This. Now. You won’t regret it. I can’t wait for book two.

My rating: 5/5
3 Responses to “Fifty Shades of Grey, by E.L. James”

  1. Sara@ Handmade Jewelry April 20, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I am certainly not into BDSM tales, but I have to say that I absolutely liked this one. This was one of those books that keeps you glued to the pages; staying up reading in to the early morning. I found it to be very addicting which is really disturbing personally.

    As crazy as it sounds, I have a lot of hope for these two and I am eager to read the next installment.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m gonna challenge myself… « Books, Baking & Other Objects of Beauty - July 19, 2011

    […] Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James – Completed June 6, […]

  2. Where has the year gone? A challenge update « Books, Baking & Other Objects of Beauty - December 22, 2011

    […] Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James – Completed June 6, […]

Leave a Reply

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Author's Taproom

Where every hour is happy hour!

Torte - The Blog

Recipes, products and decorating ideas from Torte Cake Decorating Supplies, New Zealand based

Random Acts of Rob™

Powered by 100% Pure Lust!

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

The Rover - The Movie Fansite

A David Michod film starring Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson

Bookish Temptations

Bookish Temptations... Just Read. Feed your mind and open your heart.

The Book Hookup

Eat. Breathe. Read.

Cosmopolis - The Movie Fansite. Film by David Cronenberg starring Robert Pattinson

"He didn't know what he wanted. And then he knew. He wanted to get a haircut."

The Cold Shower

No rules... No regrets... No return...

