Rock Hard, by Olivia Cunning

22 Aug

Format: Kindle Edition, 448 pages
Published: February 14, 2011
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Back cover blurb:

Erotic romance is one of the bestselling subgenres in the romance category. Olivia Cunning delivers the perfect blend of steamy sex, heartwarming romance, and a wicked sense of humor.

This second in the Sinners on Tour series features lead singer Sedric Lionheart who became a playboy after his fiancee, Jessica, broke his heart. Forced on a summer tour together for two entire months, but stubbornly desperate to stay apart, they find a million steamy reasons why they had that lovin’ feeling in the first place.

 

My review:

About a third of the way through this book, I renamed Jessica Chase in my mind as Jessica Chafes. Surely no women could handle the amount of battering her bits received in this book!

Maybe it was because I read this too soon after the first book, or maybe it was just that I didn’t like Jessica very much, but I didn’t enjoy this as much as Backstage Pass. Yes, there was a bit more plot in this sequel, but I found the two main characters’ mood swings annoying and there wasn’t enough Brian or Eric for my liking. There was some Trey – my favourite band member – but I found myself more intrigued by his brother, Dare. I hope Cunning writes more for him in the future books.

I was also amazed that it took until Chapter 28 of the second book in the series before any mention was made of the band having a manager, some dude named Jerry. Shouldn’t he be on tour with them? He and their publicity person should certainly have made appearances when Brian in the first book and the boys in this sequel got injured and had to cancel concerts. Where were the press conferences? Nah, that just didn’t ring true.

However, I did enjoy the sweet ending, probably because of the hilarious bet, and I’ll be reading the other books in the series because I love Trey and Eric, and Jace is such an enigma. As long as they keep Jessica to a minimum.

 

My rating: 3/5

2 Responses to “Rock Hard, by Olivia Cunning”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m gonna challenge myself… « Books, Baking & Other Objects of Beauty - August 22, 2011

    […] Rock Hard by Olivia Cunning – Completed July 25, […]

  2. Where has the year gone? A challenge update « Books, Baking & Other Objects of Beauty - December 22, 2011

    […] Rock Hard by Olivia Cunning – Completed July 25, […]

Leave a Reply

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Author's Taproom

Where every hour is happy hour!

Jane's Patisserie

My Baking Journey ♥

Torte - The Blog

Recipes, products and decorating ideas from Torte Cake Decorating Supplies, New Zealand based

Random Acts of Rob™

Powered by 100% Pure Lust!

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

The Rover - The Movie Fansite

A David Michod film starring Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson

Bookish Temptations

Bookish Temptations... Just Read. Feed your mind and open your heart.

The Book Hookup

Eat. Breathe. Read.

Cosmopolis - The Movie Fansite. Film by David Cronenberg starring Robert Pattinson

"He didn't know what he wanted. And then he knew. He wanted to get a haircut."

The Cold Shower

No rules... No regrets... No return...

