2012 Reading Challenges

5 Jan

The new year has begun, so of course I have been madly signing up for new reading challenges. The first two are old friends – ones I signed up for last year and managed to complete – but then I saw some new ones and thought… well, you know!

Last year I managed to completely outdo myself and read 129 books, so to outdo myself in 2012 I will have to manage 130 or more. That seems rather daunting, but I hope I can make it.

Here are The Book Vixen’s competition rules, and if you want to join me you can sign up HERE:

Details:

  • Runs January 1, 2012 – December 31, 2012 (books read prior to 1/1/12 do not count towards the challenge). You can join at anytime. Sign up on The Book Vixen’s blog.
  • The goal is to outdo yourself by reading more books in 2012 than you did in 2011. See the different levels below and pick the one that works best for you. Nothing is set in stone; you can change levels at any time during the challenge.
  • Books can be any format (bound, eBook, audio).
  • Re-reads and crossovers from other reading challenges are allowed.
  • Grab the reading challenge button and post this reading challenge on your blog to track your progress. Please include a link back to this sign-up post so others can join the reading challenge too. You do not have to be a book blogger to participate; you could track your progress on Goodreads or LibraryThing.

 

Levels:

     Getting my heart rate up – Read 1–5 more books
     Out of breath – Read 6–10 more books
     Breaking a sweat – Read 11–15 more books
     I’m on fire! – Read 16+ more books

So I will be aiming to get my heart rate up. Anything more than that will be seriously amazing!

I just love Book Chick City‘s pink hair! Her fun logos just make me want to join her in whatever challenge she has going, so I’m signing on for her Mystery and Suspense one again this year.

Here are the details, and if you want to join me the link is HERE:

Challenge Details
• Timeline: 01 Jan 2012 – 31 Dec 2012
• Rules: There are TWO LEVELS you can choose from:

– Read TWELVE (12) mystery & suspense novels in 2012
– Read TWENTY FOUR (24) mystery & suspense novels in 2012

• You don’t have to select your books ahead of time, you can just add them as you go. Also if you do list them upfront you can change them, nothing is set in stone! The books you choose can crossover into other challenges you have on the go.
• You can join at anytime. All books read in 2012 count towards the challenge regardless of when you sign up.
• Audiobooks do not count, but all other formats are accepted.

• This challenge can crossover to other challenges.

• You can choose from the numerous sub-genres of mystery and suspense, from cosy mysteries such as Agatha Christie to the more hard-boiled kind like V I Warshawski by Sara Paretsky, or romantic suspense written by the likes of Linda Howard, forensic crime such as those written by Kathy Reichs and even paranormal/supernatural suspense such as Kelley Armstrong. I’m sure this challenge will have something for everyone! 🙂 To help you figure out and decide, I have updated a sub-genre list – to view this list go HERE.

Last year I managed 22 mysteries and thrillers, so I’m going to choose the option to read 12 this year. If I do more, then that’s a bonus.

Since I managed 129 books last year, and am aiming for 130 this year, I thought I could also sign up to Book Chick City’s 100+ Books in  Year challenge.

To join me in this one, click HERE.

Challenge Details
• Timeline: 01 Jan 2012 – 31 Dec 2012
• Rules: Read 100+ books in 2012 (any genre)
• You don’t have to select your books ahead of time, you can just add them as you go. Also if you do list them upfront you can change them, nothing is set in stone! The books you choose can crossover into other challenges you have on the go.
• You can join at anytime. All books read in 2012 count towards the challenge regardless of when you sign up.

• At the beginning of Jan 2012, you will find a link to specific month to add your reviews.

• Audiobooks do not count, but all other formats are accepted.

• Only fiction, no non-fiction.

• This challenge can crossover to other challenges.

I read a reasonable amount of Urban Fantasy, so I was a sucker for this one. And I love the logo!

To join me in this challenge, click HERE.

Challenge Details
• Timeline: 01 Jan 2012 – 31 Dec 2012
• There are two levels:

– Read TWENTY FOUR (24)  horror & urban fantasy novels in 2012
– Read FORTY EIGHT (48) horror & urban fantasy novels in 2012

• You don’t have to select your books ahead of time, you can just add them as you go. Also if you do list them upfront you can change them, nothing is set in stone! The books you choose can crossover into other challenges you have on the go.
• You can join the challenge at anytime. All books read in 2012 count towards the challenge regardless of when you sign up.

• Audiobooks do not count, but all other formats are accepted.

• No non-fiction – only fiction.

• This challenge can crossover to other challenges.

I’m aiming for 24 UF books.
Likewise, I read a lot – A LOT – of paranormal romance these days, so this was a no-brainer. And again the logo is too cute to ignore!
Join me in this challenge HERE.
Challenge Details
• Timeline: 01 Jan 2012 – 31 Dec 2012
• Rules: There are FOUR (4) LEVELS to choose from:

– One Sexy Demon: Read 6 Speculative Romance novels in 2012

 – Two Sexy Werewolves: Read 12 Speculative Romance novels in 2012

Three Sexy Vampires: Read 18 Speculative Romance novels in 2012

– Four Sexy Archangels: Read 24 Speculative Romance novels in 2012

• You don’t have to select your books ahead of time, you can just add them as you go. Also if you do list them upfront you can change them, nothing is set in stone! The books you choose can crossover into other challenges you have on the go.
• You can join at anytime. All books read in 2012 count towards the challenge regardless of when you sign up.
• Audiobooks do not count, but all other formats are accepted.

• Only fiction, no non-fiction.

• This challenge can crossover to other challenges.

 GENRES:

– Paranormal romance
– Dark fantasy romance
– Urban fantasy romance
– Steampunk romance
– Sci-fi romance
– Apocalyptic romance

In my opinion as long as the main plot line is the romance element then you’re good to go! Also remember, this is ‘speculative‘ romance so no historical or contemporary allowed 😉

I think I can probably manage to read to the archangel level – we shall see!
Finally, this one seemed appropriate. I found out about it through Book Chick City but it is hosted by Literary Escapism. I have been trying a whole lot of new authors lately, often debut writers but sometimes just ones who are new to me. This seemed like a good challenge to join to keep note of them.
Join me in this challenge HERE.

Here are the guidelines:

  1. The challenge will run from January 1, 2012 through December 31, 2012.
  2. Since this is an author challenge, there is no restriction on choosing your novels. They can definitely be from other challenges. However, the authors must be new to you and, preferably from novels.  Anthologies are a great way to try someone new, but only a third of your new authors can be from anthologies.
  3. I want this to be an easy challenge, so you can pick to do either 15, 25 or 50 new authors.  It all depends on how fast you read and how adventurous you want to be.  If you reach your goal halfway through the year, don’t stop. Any new author you try, go ahead and head back here and add it to the list.  Introduce us all to whoever you find.  Afterall, there’s no reason to stop trying new authors, right?

I’ll start off with 15, although I suspect I might manage 25 before the end of the year.

What do you think? Too ambitious? Only time will tell 🙂 I will update my progress in the Reading Challenges pages on my menu bar as I go.

One Response to “2012 Reading Challenges”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Plans for 2012 « …At Your Fingertips - January 11, 2012

    […] 2012 Reading Challenges (mrsaubergine.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Author's Taproom

Where every hour is happy hour!

Jane's Patisserie

My Baking Journey ♥

Torte - The Blog

Recipes, products and decorating ideas from Torte Cake Decorating Supplies, New Zealand based

Random Acts of Rob™

Powered by 100% Pure Lust!

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

The Rover - The Movie Fansite

A David Michod film starring Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson

Bookish Temptations

Bookish Temptations... Just Read. Feed your mind and open your heart.

The Book Hookup

Eat. Breathe. Read.

Cosmopolis - The Movie Fansite. Film by David Cronenberg starring Robert Pattinson

"He didn't know what he wanted. And then he knew. He wanted to get a haircut."

The Cold Shower

No rules... No regrets... No return...

