The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss, by Max Wirestone

31 Aug

25700251Format: e-ARC, 313 pages

Publisher: Redhook Books

Published: October 20, 2015

ISBN: 9780316385978

Genre: General Fiction (Adult)

Back cover blurb: For anyone who has ever geeked out about something and for fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars.

Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. She is unemployed, broke, and on her last bowl of ramen. But that’s all about to change. Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she’s offered a job. A job that she’s woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).

My review: It has taken me forever to finish this, even though it was laugh-out-loud funny. I loved the wit and pop culture references, but about a third of the way through I suspected I wasn’t a big enough geek to actually get a lot of the in-jokes. I don’t game online or do cosplay or LARPing, and so the intricacies of Zoth had me a bit befuddled. However, after putting it down for a while, I decided to not get so bogged down in the lore and instead treat this as a snarky detective story, and then I just raced through it. Dahlia is a heroine you can’t help rooting for , and I’m so glad there’s going to be a sequel so I can see more of Nate and Detective Shuler.

***Disclaimer: This e-ARC was provided to me by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Huge thanks to them. ***

My rating: 4/5

4cupcakes

AddtoGoodreads

bookdepo-BuyFrom_Purple_160x30

Amazon

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

Outlander Online

Your #1 Source For All Things Outlander

Author's Taproom

Where every hour is happy hour!

Jane's Patisserie

My Baking Journey ♥

Torte - The Blog

Recipes, products and decorating ideas from Torte Cake Decorating Supplies, New Zealand based

Random Acts of Rob™

Powered by 100% Pure Lust!

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

The Rover - The Movie Fansite

A David Michod film starring Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson

Bookish Temptations

Bookish Temptations... Just Read. Feed your mind and open your heart.

The Book Hookup

Eat. Breathe. Read.

Cosmopolis - The Movie Fansite. Film by David Cronenberg starring Robert Pattinson

"He didn't know what he wanted. And then he knew. He wanted to get a haircut."

The Cold Shower

No rules... No regrets... No return...

%d bloggers like this: